Fiscal Heroism

Blog Post
Friday, March 30, 2012


Sometimes it can seem like none of our elected representatives are willing to buck their own party leaders, let alone vote for something because it’s for the good of the country, rather than serving some ideological purpose.

That’s why bipartisan support this week in the House to use the Simpson-Bowles commission recommendations to guide the 2013 budget was like a breath of fresh air. No, the amendment did not come close to passing, but the 38 members who broke ranks and voted aye are true heroes of fiscal responsibility. Political considerations took a backseat to doing the right thing, and we enthusiastically commend these brave men and women for stepping up and being counted:

Jim Cooper (D-TN) SponsorSteven LaTourette (R-OH) Co-sponsorRob Andrews (D-NJ)Charlie Bass (R-NH)Dan Boren (D-OK)Leonard Boswell (D-IA)Ann Marie Buerkle (R-NY)John Carney (D-DE)James Clyburn (D-SC)Jim Costa (D-CA)Henry Cuellar (D-TX)Charlie Dent (R-PA)Bob Dold (R-IL)Chaka Fattah (D-PA)Chris Gibson (R-NY)Jim Himes (D-CT)Tim Johnson (R-IL)Ron Kind (D-WI)Rick Larsen (D-WA)Dan Lipinski (D-IL)Cynthia Marie Lummis (R-WY)Pat Meehan (R-PA)Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)Collin Peterson (D-MN)Tom Petri (R-WI)Todd Platts (R-PA)Jared Polis (D-CO)Mike Quigley (D-IL)Tom Reed (R-NY)Kurt Schrader (D-OR)Allyson Schwartz (D-PA)John Shimkus (R-IL)Heath Shuler (D-NC)Mike Simpson (R-ID)Pete Visclosky (D-IN)Mel Watt (D-NC)Frank Wolf (R-VA)Don Young (R-AK)