Northern Virginia Fiscal Advisory Council


The Northern Virginia FAC kicked off April 15 with a Fiscal Wake-Up Tour event and dinner meeting on the campus of George Mason University.

Working with Dr. Paul Posner, Professor in the Public & International Affairs Department at George Mason University, and other George Mason University staff, the Concord Coalition held an organizational meeting of the approximately 25 invitees who agreed to attend the dinner meeting. These individuals were chosen primarily by Dr. Paul Posner in conjunction with University President Alan Merten. An overview of the purpose and charter for the Nothern Virginia FAC were outlined.

This Fiscal Wake-Up Tour event included Bob Bixby, Nicola Moore from The Heritage Foundation, Joe Minarik from CED and Eugene Steurele from the Peter G. Peterson Foundation. The event at George Mason went well, although bad weather and really bad traffic contributed to the less than expected turnout. In addition, a major power outage prompted a last minute room change. The dinner and organizational meeting of the Northern Virginia FAC also went very well and all but 1 person attended who had planned to. The group proved to be talkative and interested.


Ron Carlee, Arlington County Manager

Sheila Coates, President Black Women United for Action

Nat Gandhi, DC Chief Financial Officer

Craig Gerhart, Prince William County Executive

Zachary Golden, George Mason University Student Body President

Tony Griffin, Fairfax County Executive

Kirk Jonas, Associate Provost University of Richmond

Bill Leighty Performance Leadership Group (former Chief of Staff, Governors Kaine, Warner)

L. Scott Lingamfelter, Delegate, Virginia’s 31st District

Jim McIntyre, former OMB Director

Andrew McLauchlin, Senior Executive Consultant

Joseph Minarik, Senior Vice President and Director of Research,Committee for Economic Development

Scott Pattison, Executive Director National Association of State Budget Officers

Rudy Penner, Senior Fellow Urban Institute

Ray Scheppach, Executive Director National Governors Association

Delegate James. M. Scott, Delegate Virginia’s 53rd District

Robert Shea, Grant Thornton

Eugene Steuerle, Vice President, The Peter G. Peterson Foundation

Frank Shafroth, Chief of Staff, Office of Representative James P. Moran

Chuck Robb, Former Virginia Senator

Tom Davis, Former Virginia Congressman

Bill Hoagland, Vice President for Public Policy, CIGNA

Greg Werkheiser, Executive Director, The Phoenix Project

George Mason University:

Paul Posner, MPA Director George Mason University

Jack Censer, Dean College of Humanities and Social Sciences George Mason University

Tim Conlan, Professor Public and International Affairs George Mason University

Robert Dudley, Chair

Tom Hennessey – University Chief of Staff George Mason University

Alan Merten, University President George Mason University

William Soza, Secretary, George Mason University Board of Visitors

Toni-Michelle Travis, MPA Professor Associate Professor of Government and PoliticsGeorge Mason University


Robert Bixby, Executive Director, The Concord Coalition

Jennifer Perkins, Director, Fiscal Stewardship Project, The Concord Coalition

Ann Ludwick, Graduate Student Coordinator, George Mason University