Durbin, Coburn to Receive Economic Patriot Award

Blog Post
Tuesday, June 24, 2014

The Concord Coalition is honoring Senators Dick Durbin and Tom Coburn with the 2014 Paul E. Tsongas Economic Patriot Award for their deep commitment to fiscal responsibility.

“Senators Coburn and Durbin have tirelessly encouraged their colleagues in both parties to focus on the need for sweeping budget changes to curb the growth of federal debt, meet the challenges of an aging population and build a stronger economic future for ourselves and future generations,” said Robert L. Bixby, Concord’s executive director.

Both senators were in the bipartisan ‘Gang of Six’ that showed far-sighted fiscal leadership in the Senate. Durbin and Coburn also served on the Simpson-Bowles commission and supported its constructive, bipartisan recommendations.

Coburn, an Oklahoma Republican, was elected to the Senate in 2004 and is retiring from it when the current congressional session ends. Durbin, an Illinois Democrat, is in his third term in the Senate, where he is the Democratic Whip.

The award presentation in Washington will be livetweeted tomorrow night from Concord’s twitter account @ConcordC using the hashtag #EconPatriots.