June 24, 2017

Murray To Lead Senate Budget Committee

  • The federal budget is an expression of our country's values. Where we choose to spend and at what levels, how and who we tax, and the borrowing we...

In the Senate last week, the Democratic Steering Committee selected Senator Patty Murray (D-Wash.) to lead the Budget Committee during the 113th Congress. Murray will replace Senator Kent Conrad (D-N.D.), who is retiring at the end of this Congress and who delivered his farewell speech on the Senate floor last week.   

The Steering Committee also chose newly elected Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), and Angus King (I-Maine) to join the Budget Committee.

Senators Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) and Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.) were selected to joint the Appropriations Committee while Senators Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) and Michael Bennet (D-Colo.) were chosen to join the Finance Committee.

The committee assignments are expected to be formally approved by the full Democratic caucus when the 113th Congress convenes in January.